My Soul Hungered

Happy December First All!!!  I hope you had a marvelous Thanksgiving, and a wonderful Sabbath to boot!

I am feeling so good tonight.  My heart is full of gratitude for so many things… family, friends, testimony, life.  We had a fantastic weekend together (you’ll be happy to know Alaster is no longer for sale!) and I hope to tell all about it soon, but tonight I wanted to wish you all a happy beginning to the Christmas Season!

We started officially celebrating tonight with our traditional Advent Calendar.  The scripture inside door number one was John 6:35:

“And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.”

We read the scripture and talked about what it means.  I reminded them of the story of Enos, and how he famously said that his “soul hungered.”  I have always loved that small sentence in the Book of Mormon because I know what it’s like to have a hungry soul.  I’ve been hungry for peace, hungry for comfort, hungry for forgiveness. Hungry for understanding, for reconciliation, for relief.  We talked about these things and about how Jesus can fill that hunger as we come to Him for He is the Bread of Life.

Later in the evening we had a little bit of bread ourselves to remind us of the lesson. It was of a sweet variety (and was much more delicious than it looks in the pictures!):

hungered

And because He said that as believe on Him we would also never thirst… we had hot chocolate too :).  Well the boys did anyway (much-too-much sweet in one sitting for Corey and I!).  As we ate we listened to a song inspired by Enos.  My Soul Hungered — HERE.  I love that song.  I have to listen to it every time I read Enos.

“With all my heart,
With all my soul,
I wrestled before the Lord
To make my life whole.
He filled my hunger.
He fed my soul.”

Christ has fed my soul. Time and time again.  I find power, comfort and strength in the very mentioning of His name.  I am so grateful to Him.  I love Him.  I wasn’t feeling too Christmassy this morning in our balmy 60 degree weather, but I gotta tell you:  I sure am feeling Christmassy now!  I am really looking forward to the rest of our advent calendar discussions and the wonderful chance we will have to talk about and testify of the Savior every day.

The Savior, not snow (or anything else!), is what makes this season magical.

Merry Christmas Everyone!

3 thoughts on “My Soul Hungered

  1. Hey Sista! Thanks for writing about this! I used it for our FHE lesson tonight and we had cinnamon toast. 😀 And thanks for sharing your testimony, too. You’re great.

  2. Pingback: Advent Goodness | Brazenly Burton

Leave a Reply

