Laugh and Take a Picture

It started out pretty simply. He was playing quietly and sweetly in the living room. So sweetly in fact that I took a picture. I was loving his look of concentration and how his chubby little hand held the marker:
laugh1

I went to the kitchen to make dinner for tonight (Wednesdays are piano lesson days so I have to make it in the morning) and came back a bit later when I thought I heard something in the living room. Look what he did while I was gone:

laugh2

Beautiful green marker all over the living room carpet and into the closet under our stairs.  He had really gone to town!

laugh3

Not to mention it was on his face and neck:

laugh4

and all over his hands:

laugh5

Yep.  Quite a masterpiece he created.  I asked him what it was thinking he’d say “a no, no, no.” (He knows he’s only supposed to write on paper and in certain books.)  But he looked at me and so excitedly said “Gweeeeeen!” (Green).  Then he started pointing out to me the letters he drew: “Aaa T!!!”  “Aaa  A!!!”  I took the markers away, explained him that drawing on the carpet is a “no, no, no,” and that next time we’ll just draw in the book.  I made him say sorry, kissed his cheeks, took some pictures, and that was that!  All that was left was to text Corey so we could have a little giggle.

Life with a toddler, am I right?  I learned early on in my parenting years that the best way to handle these kinds of situations is to laugh and take a picture.  The alternatives: crying, being angry, yelling, etc. don’t actually do much good I’ve found.  It’s at times like these I like to remember the immortal words of a boy named Brady Anderson (that I had a massive crush on in 7th and 8th grade).  He once said to me:

“It’s more fun to have fun than not to have fun.”

Wise, wise words from a middle-schooler, don’t you think? (No wonder I liked him! :))  I can’t tell you how many times I have repeated that to myself and said it to others.  (Not always with a great reception… anyone else notice how grumpy people don’t always like to be told not to be grumpy?)

I also think about my favorite lady, Sister Hinckley:

“The only way to get through life is to laugh your way through it.  You either have to laugh or cry.  I prefer to laugh.  Crying gives me a headache.”

So true.

Now I don’t claim to being perfect at always being able to laugh in frustrating situations, but I do think that I have gotten better at it through the years.  Life’s too short to waste time being angry at these cute little people in our lives:

laugh6

Funny, Cheesy, Naughty Boy!

PS– Anyone know the best way to remove expo marker from carpet?!?!?

3 thoughts on “Laugh and Take a Picture

  1. Oh that sweet little mischievous boy! It happens in the blink of an eye, doesn’t it??

    Those are indeed words of wisdom. It is definitely more fun to be happy during many mishaps than to get grumpy about constantly keeping things perfect. Who could stay angry at him for long anyway??

  2. Pingback: Unrepentant Pooper — Oh the Irony!!! | Brazenly Burton

Leave a Reply

