End of Summer Picnic

Armed with a full picnic basket and football, the boys and I picked up Daddy from work last night and headed straight to the park for a celebratory evening!

The food was a hit:
picnic1

I admit being a bit nervous about that (Jack and Alaster particularly.  I didn’t even attempt it with Truman.  He had pancakes before we left the house!) because I served a very grown up flavored sub sandwich:  Muffaletta.  Have you ever had Muffaletta?  It’s divine, or at least we think so.  The last time I had one was in 2008 HERE when Cindy introduced us to them before a Bees Game.  I haven’t thought much about it since then, being a vegetarian and all… but those days have passed (Since last summer.  It was a great 3 year run.  I was going to do a post about it, but never did!) and those sandwiches kept coming back to my mind!  Anywho, this baby inside me was absolutely demanding that I eat one, so I made them for this special occasion.  And the boys really did like it!  Jack had two servings!

If you are curious, it’s ham, salami, and provolone between olive salad (I used the olive salad recipe from HERE…Perfect!) on a large loaf of Italian Bread that we cut individual portions off of for each person. (If you make it make sure you do it ahead of time, wrap it up super tight and refrigerate for a few hours to let the flavors blend before serving!)   Next time I’d use Foccacia or another more sturdy Italian Bread.  This was great, but I think it’d be even better that way!  We also had fruit salad with the best danged melons of the whole season, chips, and lemonade.  Mmmmmmmmm.

picnic2

After dinner we played:

picnic3

picnic4

picnic5

picnic6

picnic7

picnic8
picnic10

And Kissed:

picnic9

We ended the night with a trip to the library.  Showers were absolutely in order once we got home so the boys were up pretty darned late!  Their engineering camp starts at 7:30 am, but today we strolled in there at about 8:45.  Jack’s eyes were still so puffy even after I let them sleep in!  We have another fun night planned for this evening, but when I told Jack about it this morning he said he’d just rather go to bed.  We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

