Wings to Fly

Corey is headed to Heaven for lots of reasons, but surely… sidestepping branches on his bedroom floor, dealing with pink, pink and more pink jars (many of which he had helped to make!) and tissue paper and flowers and parasols and lanterns that were all over our home, and even more importantly all over our LIFE (Yes, I found their presence in all the nooks and crannies of our home quite symbolic) for 2ish+ weeks all with saintly forbearance… will secure him an extra lovely spot in that place.
heaven1

(I think the branches were by far the worst!)

Seriously. I married a good, supportive, and kind man.  And I don’t just say that because he supports me when I allow calling-related things like decorations to invade our home for a time.

Sister Hinckley once said to her husband “You have always given me wings to fly, and I have loved you for it.”

I was confused by that statement the first time I read it.  Really?  She was the one that flew?  I always thought of her as the person occupying the supportive role in their relationship.  Surely she was the one that gave him wings!

While I am sure President Hinckley would agree with me… that she did indeed support and bless him to be able to accomplish his Ministry… I no longer doubt that he could do that for her too, even though she didn’t ever leave the home for work or school, nor did she hold major callings in the church.

So much of what I feel Corey does to support me has nothing to do with my calling or the events going on in our life.  While I of course appreciate and value that type of support, the things he does to support me as I develop into the person I wish to be matter so much more.  He is patient and forgiving. He is eager to help and to bless me. He is thoughtful, affectionate and courteous.  He is my very best friend and my main source of renewal when life gets hard.  He tells me I am beautiful and amazing.  He values what I do in our home and expresses that to me sincerely and frequently.

In fact he is so generous in his assessments of my character and my actions that I am filled with a responsibility not to betray his trust, and to ever seek to be the woman that he thinks I already am.  I can count on one hand the number of times he has said something critical of me.  On rare occasion he will make an observation or suggestion to me of something that I could change.  But, he always does so in a way that helps me know he has my happiness and well being at heart.  I never feel like he’s doing it because my behavior is in some way affecting him.  Those things, of which I am sure there are plenty, he chooses to forgive and let go.  He has not once, in over 9 years of marriage, yelled at me or spoken words in anger that had to be taken back later.  Rather, he speaks kind words that build me up.  He holds me in his arms and loves me… even at times when I am not acting so loveable.

Is that not giving me wings?  Is that not helping me fly?

Corey:  Thank you for being so consistently good to me.  You are giving me wings to fly, and I love you for it.

A Side Note To all reading:  I get a little nervous posting things like this.  I want them written and recorded.  I want Corey to read and feel appreciated.  I want to read them myself in 20 years from now.  I want our children to read and know the kind of man their father is.  I want my Grandparents and Brother who live so far away to know how well I am being taken care of.  Buuuuuuuuut, I do NOT want people to feel badly if they aren’t experiencing similar blessings.  My joy should never add to the pain of another person.  And I do NOT want people to think I am bragging or exaggerating the truth.  In the end the “I want’s,” won, and I am posting, but I sincerely hope that no one was hurt in the process.  Truly.

3 thoughts on “Wings to Fly

  1. Just caught up on your blog again! I loved reading about your sweet relationships with your dad and your husband. Isn’t it amazing the kind of influence a righteous, good, kind man can have on us women? Thank you for sharing your personal feelings about these men. I’m so glad the “I wants” won over in this situation 🙂

  2. Pingback: Stake Women’s Conference 2013 | Brazenly Burton

Leave a Reply

